Halloween in London

The first pumpkin I saw on my walk...
The first pumpkin I saw on my walk… I love the cute little baby pumpkin 🙂

I have to say I feel a bit disappointed on my neighbours…  We must be the most boring borough in London!

I went for a walk today, with my camera, expecting to find great pumpkin decorations, bats, ghosts, witches… When I was in Dublin, every house was a real treat! People had actually given a lot of thought to the way they had decorated the front of their homes to make them scary or cute, depending, I guess, on the personality of their inhabitants and the age of their children.

However, in my neighbourhood, only 1 house in 10 had something akin to a decoration. Not even the pub had a single indication of Halloween!

I hope they are all madly carving as I type… I really like this celebration, but it is not so fun when I am the only one in the block with a pumpkin sitting outside my house 😛

Carve people, carve! The spirits are coming tomorrow night and we must be prepared!

Here are some of the decorations I found…

2014-10-30 08.20.36The English rain does very little to preserve them carved pumpkins…

2014-10-30 08.24.26And these are ours… we bought some very realistic spiders…

2014-10-26 17.00.25After the first night out, we lost 2 spiders to one of the many cats that live on our street. We never managed to reattach them properly, so we left them on the pebbles at the front of the house. Now, they give me the creeps every time I set foot outside! Hehehe.

2014-10-30 08.25.40Hope your street is full of cool decorations!

Paula

One thought on “Halloween in London

Leave a Reply

