Pumpkin and Walnut “I love Fall” scones

DSC07503

I love Fall! The colours, the air, the food… the fact that I can wear my boots and hats again… I complain for the first couple of days “Boohoo, the Summer is gone” but then the magic of Autumn kicks in and I forget all about the beach and picnics at the park.

We don’t have pumpkin pure where I was born, therefore all these pumpkin lattes and pies that surround me now are quite new. This year, to try them all, I decided to cook with pumpkin all of October, it will give me a chance to try many of the recipes I’ve seen around and to play with a couple of ideas of my own.

This pumpkin scones belong to the second category, I started from a basic scone recipe and with some minor tweaks turned the British classic into an autumn favourite…well, my Autumn favourite, at least 🙂

My garden today...
My garden today…

This lovely scones are a bit flatter than regular ones, and the dough is a bit more wet than the usual scone dough, that means it is stickier and needs gentle handling, but they are worth the bit of extra effort.

They are soft, spicy and have a lovely orange colour 🙂 I finished them with a simple glaze made with icing sugar and orange juice.

Ingredients (8 scones):

120 grs plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

30 grs butter

pinch of salt

80 grs pumpkin pure

50 ml milk (or buttermilk or yoghurt)

1/2 cup maple syrup (if you prefer you can replace it with 20 grs sugar, and add a bit more milk, almost 80ml).

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ginger

a pinch nutmeg

Half a cup chopped walnuts

For the glaze:

1/2 cup icing sugar

1 tablespoon orange juice.

DSC07506How to:

Note: A key to good scones is to make sure that your oven is preheated at 220 C, if you place scones in a cold oven they won’t rise, and they’ll turn out tough and flat.

1.- In a bowl mix the flour, salt and baking powder (and the sugar, if you are using instead of maple syrup). Add the butter to the flour and rub together until you obtain something that resembles a grainy, sort of sandy mixture:

DSC074642.- Then add the walnuts to the mixture of flour.

3.- In another bowl mix the maple syrup (if using), pumpkin pure, milk and spices.

DSC074664.- Use a cornet to help yourself form a dough. It will be sticky, if it is too wet, add some more flour, but try to keep the dough on the wet side of things, that will make softer scones.

5.- Tilt the dough into a floured surface and roll out to 2 cm. thick. I just patted my dough flat, because it was very soft (I overdid the milk, in the ingredient list provided I have adjusted the amount of milk to make a drier dough):

DSC074726.- Use a 5 cm plain, round pastry cutter to stamp out as many rounds as possible and lay them in a baking tray covered with baking parchment:

DSC074737.- Reknead and reroll the trimmings and cut out more rounds.

8.- Place in the oven for 20 minutes. If they are not ready after 20 minutes, bring the oven down to 160 C (to avoid burning) and cook for further 10 minutes.

9.- Let them cool. Meanwhile prepare the glaze by mixing the icing sugar with the orange juice. Pour the glaze over the scones and let it dry.

Hope you like them!

DSC07502

Leave a Reply

